New Year, New….. Shoes?

shoes

Let’s face it.  All we’re going to hear about and have been hearing about in recent days and weeks is “New Year, New You” and similar statements.   If this is your wish, so be it.  It’s not mine.

At the very minimum, I don’t believe in waiting until the start of a new year to “start over”.  There’s nothing wrong with our past, it shapes who we are now.  If you want to change yourself or begin to workout or make a resolution, why not start in April? Or October?  Or any time the feeling strikes you.  I understand the “cleansing” feeling and the idea of the new beginning, but I don’t believe that this magical day is always the right time to do it.  Aside from that, who needs that kind of pressure?  Announcing it to the world and feeling like you’re a failure if you haven’t stuck to it.  Do it for yourself.  Do it whenever you want to do it.

So for for me, New Year, New Shoes is going to be as close as I come.  I’m going to do as I always do and go on adventures, try anything new I can find (with the exception of mechanical bulls or karaoke) and just live my life, new year or midway through.

I will admit that I’m a very blessed woman, and this year is bringing other “new” things as well, but that’s purely based on the calendar.  I’m less than 3 weeks away from closing on a new house!  Although it’s in the location I wanted, it’s going to be a lot of work.  The great news is that I’ll finally have a shoe room again, albeit small,  and I’m looking forward to making it perfect.  I can’t wait to share it with you all when it’s completed!

Be true to yourself and step outside of your box here and there – no matter what time it is!

– Kelly

*See more pictures on my Instagram account @silverdollarkelly

 

Leave a Reply

